Interviews

Interview with Robert and Vivien Kyle

Thu 15th November 2018

Robert and Vivien Kyle are the husband and wife team behind the Ayrshire-based RAD Hotel Group, which employs 500 people over six…

Angela Vickers Interview

Thu 18th October 2018

More G&T, Vickers? Lanarkshire-born Angela Vickers is Apex Hotels’ CEO. She joined Apex as Financial Director in 2004 when the company had…

Interview with Michael Bonsor

Wed 12th September 2018

SUSAN YOUNG met with Michael Bonsor, of the Rosewood London   There has been a lot of furore over plans to convert…

Hy-dro, hy-dro, it’s off to work he goes!

Mon 13th August 2018

Jason Caddy met with Stephen Leckie, CEO at Crieff Hydro, and they talked business, tourism, misconceptions, broken ribs and Kit-Kats. A two-hour…

INTERVIEW: NICOLA TAYLOR – FROM BABE IN ARMS TO THE BOSS

Wed 6th June 2018

Nicola Taylor was literally born into the hotel industry. She came straight from the Queen Mother’s hospital to a flat on the…

Interview with Lisa Wishart – Managing Director of Lisini

Tue 20th February 2018

Lisa Wishart is the Managing Director of her family business Lisini Pub Co in Glasgow – which has developed from a pub…

Scotland’s Top GMs: Focus on RICHARD MAYNE – G&V, EDINBURGH

Fri 26th January 2018

Scotland's Top GMs: Focus on RICHARD MAYNE – G&V, EDINBURGH

A Passion For Hospitality

Tue 28th November 2017

Malcolm Simpson and wife Karen are the couple behind SimpsInns, one of Ayrshire’s most successful leisure groups. Malcolm and Karen Simpson are the…

The King of the Shop Floor

Wed 11th October 2017

Stephen Carter OBE is one of the best known hoteliers in Scottish hospitality and one of the most charming. I’ve known this month’s…

Ken McCulloch: A Real “Bon Viveur”

Fri 1st September 2017

Ken McCulloch is one of the few remaining ‘bon viveurs’ in the hospitality industry. Susan Young caught up with him at hotel Dakota…

Around the World to the Waldorf

Thu 15th June 2017

DALE MACPHEE HAS TRAVELLED THE WORLD TO MAKE HER MARK IN HER SPIRITUAL HOMELAND.  Dale MacPhee has been the General Manager of the five-star…

Snapshot- Johnny Wilson

Wed 12th April 2017

Johnny Wilson – Doorman, Blythswood Square How long have you been in your current role? I have been in my current role…

New Boss Spells Out the Way Ahead for Hilton Glasgow

Thu 6th April 2017

There is a new boss at the helm of Glasgow’s biggest 5 star hotel, Susan Young reports. Calum Ross is a familiar…

From boarding school runaway to hotel superstar! The amazing success story of Ken McCulloch

Wed 8th March 2017

Ken McCulloch is one of the few remaining ‘bon viveurs’ in the hospitality industry. Susan Young caught up with him at his…